ELA International

ELA International and Crystalfoot : funding the research on the leukodystrophies.

To go even further in the research against the rare diseases, I looked for an idea, new, strong, powerful and ambitious one. We don’t have the choice, being ambitious, it is necessary when we have to cope with serious diseases. This idea naturally imposed to me, I had it right here. We are lucky to have Zinedine Zidane as a godfather of ELA. Furthermore, taking over this magic feet which delighted millions of spectators thanks to his prowess on the ground became obvious.

I told myself that we had to make this foot a symbol and turn it into an object of art to attract attention. This is how the idea of the crystal foot was born. To achieve this, we had to gather forces. The first of these are the sick children who endure their illnesses and have something to teach all of us about life. It’s enough to watch them living without complaining, while their everyday lives are heavy and complicated, full of suffering. The parents who take care of them without weakening also show us courage that we can hardly imagine to keep fighting.”

Guy Alba,
President of ELA International

Our missions

Funding medical research on leukodystrophies
Informing and supporting affected families
Raising public awareness
Developing its action at international level

Developing research, a priority action for ELA International

ELA supports research in the field of leukodystrophies. To date, more than 497 research projects have been funded for a total of more than € 42.6 million.

ELA’s aim is to help French and international researchers better understand the mechanisms of the disease and its natural history, particularly through the discovery of evaluation tools and biomarkers, and help clinicians to carry out clinical trials in order to combat leukodystrophies.

Since its inception, through the publication of a call for tenders, ELA has been inviting the international scientific community to submit research projects in the field of leukodystrophies: clinical trials; clinical trial preparation; preclinical studies specifically testing therapies; development of relevant animal or cellular models of human leukodystrophies; study of the mechanisms responsible for the disease in order to identify new therapeutic approaches; research on the prevention and repair of white matter lesions in humans or in specific animal models of leukodystrophies. ELA has organised three international scientific congresses bringing together leading specialists in leukodystrophies and myelin repair. These events allowed to take stock of the latest discoveries in the field and to promote exchanges and collaborations between researchers/clinicians.

In order to keep families informed, every year ELA organises a symposium dedicated to patients and their families. On this occasion, specialists in leukodystrophies convey inform families about progress in the field in a simple and understandable way, and answer their questions. This is a unique moment of exchange between researchers/clinicians and patients.

ELA International

ELA International et Crystalfoot : financer la recherche sur les leucodystrophies

“Pour aller encore plus loin dans la recherche contre ces maladies rares, je cherchais une idée nouvelle, forte, puissante et ambitieuse. Nous n’avons pas le choix, être ambitieux, il le faut lorsque l’on fait face à des maladies graves. Cette idée s’est naturellement imposée à moi, je l’avais sous les yeux. Nous avons la chance d’avoir comme parrain d’ELA Zinédine Zidane. Aussi, fort de cette figure emblématique, se saisir de ce pied magique qui a enchanté des millions de spectateurs grâce à ses prouesses sur le terrain est devenu une évidence.

Je me suis dit qu’il fallait faire de ce pied comme un symbole et le transformer en un objet d’art pour marquer les esprits. C’est ainsi qu’est née l’idée du pied de cristal. Pour le réaliser, il nous fallait réunir des forces. La première est celle des enfants malades qui résistent et nous donnent des leçons de vie à tous. Il suffit de les regarder vivre sans se plaindre, alors qu’ils ont un quotidien lourd et compliqué, fait de souffrances. Ces parents qui s’occupent d’eux sans faiblir, nous donnent eux aussi ce courage que l’on peut à peine imaginer, pour continuer le combat.”

Guy Alba,
Président d’ELA International

Nos missions

Financer la recherche médicale sur les leucodystrophies
Informer et soutenir les familles concernées
Sensibiliser l’opinion publique
Développer son action au niveau international

 

Développer la recherche, une action prioritaire pour ELA International

ELA soutient la recherche dans le domaine des leucodystrophies. Au total à ce jour, plus de 497 projets de recherche ont été financés pour un total de plus de 42,6 millions d’euros.

L’objectif d’ELA est d’aider les chercheurs français et internationaux à mieux comprendre les mécanismes de la maladie et son histoire naturelle notamment à travers la découverte d’outils d’évaluation et de biomarqueurs, et les cliniciens à réaliser des essais cliniques, pour lutter contre les leucodystrophies.

Depuis ses débuts, via la publication d’un appel d’offres, ELA invite la communauté scientifique internationale à soumettre des projets de recherche dans le domaine des leucodystrophies : essais cliniques ; préparation aux essais cliniques ; études précliniques testant spécifiquement des thérapies ; développement de modèles animaux ou cellulaires pertinents des leucodystrophies humaines ; étude des mécanismes responsables de la maladie, afin d’identifier de nouvelles approches thérapeutiques ; recherches sur la prévention et la réparation des lésions de la substance blanche chez l’homme ou dans des modèles animaux spécifiques des leucodystrophies. ELA a organisé trois congrès scientifiques internationaux réunissant les plus grands spécialistes des leucodystrophies et de la réparation de la myéline. Ces événements ont permis de faire le point sur les dernières découvertes dans le domaine et de promouvoir les échanges et les collaborations entre chercheurs/cliniciens.

Dans un souci d’information des familles, ELA organise chaque année un colloque dédié aux patients et à leurs familles. À cette occasion, des spécialistes des leucodystrophies font aux familles un état de leur recherche de façon simple et compréhensible, et répondent à leurs questions. C’est un moment unique d’échanges entre chercheurs / cliniciens et malades.